Trampolines – Comfort #77

Posted on October 21, 2011

3


I have often had dreams of slaying the bug that has lived on my body for sixteen years. He has terrorized me consistently, hiding along my neck, my thigh, even inside my ears. There is an old wives remedy that involves a trampoline and gin. Apparently the bug is living on my blood, so the first part of the remedy is to get very drunk so that the bug gets very drunk. The second part is to get on the trampoline and start jumping up and down furiously. This is how I have managed to reach this point, where I am kneeling on the trampoline and staring down at this bug that I have nourished for years and thinking how silly he looks all drunk and sick on gin. Of course I throw up in the next moment, all over my neighbor’s trampoline, and the bug scampers off. Like so many things in life, this has come to an end.

Posted in: Year 1: Comfort