Reading – Curse #347

Posted on June 5, 2011

1


My previous lover left a booby trap for my current lover, who picked a random book out of my library and decided to read it. The book happened to be a very engrossing book and my current lover could not put it away. The problem arose around page sixty, once she was thoroughly addicted, at which point my ex lover had begun to leave comments on every page. There were all sorts of “haha” and “Oh I agree with the author’s sentiment here” and “John, if you ever read this, I hope you remember that night in Missouri under the stars with just the one blanket and our bodies to keep us warm”. My current lover began to experience cognitive dissonance (on one hand she wanted badly to read the book, but on the other she was repulsed by this writing of this woman who once had me). In the end, she blew up. Needless to say, it left  a mess all over the bedroom, broken glass and wrinkled clothes and a lot of hair, which was funny because I could not recall her having that much hair.

And in this my previous lover had won.

Posted in: Year 1: Curse