A Future Park – Curse #92012R

Posted on March 29, 2011

5


I’m standing on the second story of the mall, looking down at this man and this woman who are both statues.

She says, I’m leaving.

He says, Please don’t do this to me right now.

She says, Now or later, why does it matter?

He says, I feel like the world is about to collapse any moment now.

She says, I’m outta here. There’s a world that I want to see.

He says, Any minute, the roof and the walls are all going to come crashing in. They’re going to kill us.

You are a real bore, she says.

He says, You are killing me.

She says, A real stinking bore.

What about the kid? he says.

She says, Oh, right. Where is he?

The kid is poking a stick in a fountain of water and he doesn’t even know how to swim. He’s leaning over the edge real dangerous like. Of course he shares his parents genes, and so he’s a statue too, frozen in a nearly doomed, accidental pose.  And she keeps talking about doing this and doing that, going places and leaving, but shes rooted right there, with him and this dare devil kid forever.

It may be one of the most romantic things I’ve ever seen in the Midwest, even though a few months later the entire mall is demolished and replaced with a park.

